I Stand Before You, To Stand Behind You

When I was a kid, I had a wood shop teacher named Mr. George Meuser. His humor and quick wit were matched only by his handlebar mustache. He would frequently breakout into his rendition of this poem, although I don’t remember the “Ladles and Jellyspoons” portion.

For a long time I would frequently spend time searching Google to find the rest of the poem since I could only remember his first line. Initially, each search came up empty. Then, just recently, I search again and I found multiple entries of people looking for the words to the same poem.

books

Ladles and Jellyspoons

Ladles and Jellyspoons,
I come before you, to stand behind you,
To tell you something I know nothing about.
Next Thursday, which is Good Friday,
There will be a mothers’ meeting for fathers only.
Admission is free, pay at the door,
Pull up a seat and sit on the floor.
We will be discussing the four corners of the round table.

Author: Unknown

The other point that was interesting to me was the number of variations of the poem that exists. You can see some of them here, as well as the debate as to who was the original author.

I just purchased the paperback version A Rocket in My Pocket, Carl Withers, where it appears, according to Google Books, it has the original poem. I’m looking forward to reading that when it arrives.

I’m curious if you’ve heard of this poem and what version did you hear originally? Was it different from what is list here? Give me your feedback – I’d love to hear it.

Leave a Reply

