Advent :: Embracing Christ In The Midst of Christmas Day 10

Wednesday, December 7

Scripture

Isaiah 43

“You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD, “and My servant whom I have chosen, so that you may know and believe Me and understand that I am He. Before Me no god was formed, nor will there be one after Me. I, even I, am the LORD, and apart from Me there is no savior. I have revealed and saved and proclaimed — I, and not some foreign god among you. You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD, “that I am God. Yes, and from ancient days I am He. No one can deliver out of My hand. When I act, who can reverse it?”

“I am the LORD, your Holy One, Israel’s Creator, your King.” This is what the LORD says— He who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters…

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland…I provide water in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland, to give drink to My people, My chosen, the people I formed for Myself that they may proclaim My praise.”

“I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions, for My own sake, and remembers your sins no more.”

Meditation

Once He Came in Blessing

Johann Horn, c. 1490-1547; tr. Catherine Winkworth, 1827-78, sts. 1, 4, alt.

Once He came in blessing,
All our sins redressing;
Came in likeness lowly,
Son of God most holy;
Bore the cross to save us;
Hope and freedom gave us.

Come, then, O Lord Jesus,
From our sins release us.
Keep our hearts believing,
That we, grace receiving,
Ever may confess You
Till in heav’n we bless You.

Prayer

Father, we are Your people, those formed for Your praise. For Your name You have erased our record of sin. Glorify Your name in us today as we wait for Your hands to make a way where there is no way. Amen.

Provided by Passion City Church

Leave a Reply

