Advent :: Embracing Christ In The Midst of Christmas Day 5

Friday, December 2

Scripture

Psalm 27:7-14

Hear my voice when I call, O Lord; be merciful to me and answer me. My heart says of You, “Seek His face!” Your face, Lord, I will seek. Do not hide Your face from me, do not turn Your servant away in anger; You have been my helper. Do not reject me or forsake me, O God my Savior. Though my father and mother forsake me, the Lord will receive me. Teach me Your way, O Lord; lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors. Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes, for false witnesses rise up against me, breathing out violence. I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Meditation

The King Shall Come When Morning Dawns
John Brownlie, 1859-1925, alt.

Stanzas 1-5

The King shall come when morning dawns
And light triumphant breaks,
When beauty gilds the eastern hills
And life to joy awakes

Not as of old a little child,
To bear and fight and die,
But crowned in glory like the sun
That lights the morning sky.

Oh, brighter than the rising morn
When Christ, victorious, rose
And left the lone-some place of death
Despite the rage of foes.

Oh, brighter than that glorious morn
Shall dawn upon our race
The day when Christ in splendor comes
And we shall see His face.

The King shall come when morning dawns
And light and beauty brings.
Hail, Christ the Lord! Your people pray:
Come quickly, King of kings!

Prayer

Father, You have been our help in days past, and You are our only hope for the days ahead. Yet, today is all we have. So this day we place our trust in You alone, knowing soon we will be with You. Until the day we see You face to face, make sure our faith and allow us to live with confidence in Your unshakable character and certain Word. For Jesus, Amen.

Provided by Passion City Church

Leave a Reply

