The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive (Review)

The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary ExecutiveThe Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive

I think this may have jumped into the position of my favorite Lencioni book. Perhaps because of viewing it through the lens of the theme that can have the most impact on the organization that I work for, but more I think because (so far) this seems to be the “Rosetta Stone” of Lencioni themes.  With the objective of a healthy organization, the 5 Dysfunctions of a Team has greater context, Meeting to Death has greater context, 3 Signs of a Miserable Job has greater context. The fact that Lencioni mentions The Five Temptations of a CEO (next on my list to read) as tool in the Model section of the book suggests its place in the “hierarchy”. Although there is also a light reference to Silo’s & Turf Wars

For anyone just starting to be introduced to Lencioni’s writings, I would suggest that this be the first one. I say that while at the same time recognizing I still have 5 Temptations, Getting Naked and Silo’s & Turf Wars to read.

My rating 5 out of 5 – add this to my highly recommend/”must read” titles.

Leave a Reply

